News: Prometheus Finalists are Announced!

by , by Michael Flynn and by , have been chosen as three of the six finalists in this year’s Prometheus Award for Best Novel.

Here are all six finalists for the Best Novel category of this year’s Prometheus Award, which honors the best pro-freedom or anti-authoritarian novel of the previous year:

* by Iain Banks (Orbit)
* by Cory Doctorow (TOR)
* by Michael Flynn (TOR)
* by Charles Stross (Ace)
* by Harry Turtledove (Penguin/Roc)
* by Jo Walton (TOR)

The Best Novel winner will receive a one-ounce gold coin and a personalized plaque. Winners in several Prometheus Award categories, including the Hall of Fame (Best Classic Fiction), will be announced during the 67th World Science Fiction Convention August 6-10, 2009 in Montréal, Quebec, Canada.

Congratulations to all involved!